i Cryptic Crossword 1721 Quixote

August 15, 2016

A little tricky in places today I thought. I stymied myself for an age by guessing SPOTS for 1ac, and struggled with the combination of 21d/25ac. I wanted CANE to be part of the latter for too long, and am still not particularly sure the clue works for me.

Lots to like as ever from the Don. COD goes to 17d – ‘Man sure jumping around? (7)’.

Back to January 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/01/09/independent-7873-by-quixote/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1721 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    It seemed a touch trickier than usual to me too, especially 21/25 as you say. Not sure that I much care for either. Otherwise all rock solid as per, and I particularly liked 14.

  2. allan_c said

    Didn’t notice it back in 2012, but in 24ac the initial letters of the two words aren’t checked so the spoonerism would fit just as well as the correct answer.

Comments are closed.

