i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1714 by Phi

August 13, 2016

Saturday 6th August 2016

Absolutely nothing unusual about this Phi crossword – which is of course unusual.

So I shall regale you with the story behind 12 across, which comes from The Book of Judges:

The men of Gilead said unto him, Art thou an Ephraimite? He said, Nay; Then said they unto him, Say now Shibboleth: and he said Sibboleth: for he could not frame to pronounce it right. Then they took him, and slew him.

Harsh maybe, but 12a gets my COD award nonetheless:

Bible host destroyed by hard test word (10)

And for the full blog we need to dip back into the tail end of 2011 at Fifteensquared here.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1714 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Many thanks to Mr Brown, teacher of history, for embedding the phrase “shibboleth of foreign policy” into my head, back in the dim and distant. I recall neither source nor context now, but it was probably something to do with sending gunboats. Exactly the sort of word one would expect to hear from our esteemed Foreign Secretary – who seems to have fallen uncharacteristically silent just lately, come to think of it.

    Which is by the by. Thoroughly enjoyable plain crossword from Phi, and although I enjoyed 12ac, 14/5d just pips it for me.

  2. Rick King said

    Rather pleased to get shibboleth early on, enjoyable puzzle throughout so thanks as ever to phi and Cornick

  3. jonofwales said

    I struggled with the long phrase at 14/5 for no reason in particular it appears now. Combined with some new words, to me at least, at 26 and 27, I found this one quick to start but much slower to finish. 12ac I knew, so that didn’t present any issues.

Comments are closed.

