I Cryptic Crossword 1719 Hypnos

August 12, 2016

Hypnos at his toughest, well too tough for me. 3a beat me, yes I have heard of her but the clue was just to obscure for my taste. Also 7d was a stretch to far.  A lot of others went in just because they fit, which spoils a puzzle for me. Clueing Goon with Old Comic was I thought a bit dubious and where does the TR come from in 17a, Terrier I suppose but?. There were of course some of the more straightforward sort of clue which gave a bit of a toehold to get into the more difficult parts. Among these I think 5d fits for

COD – Fool taking in single Australian region with unknown cipher (9)

The original blog from January 2012 and a full explanation can be found here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/01/15/independent-on-sunday-1142hypnos/

4 Responses to “I Cryptic Crossword 1719 Hypnos”

  1. jonofwales said

    Certainly tricky for an IoS reprint. I knew 3a, which opened a large part of the grid, once I guessed what sort of anchor we were looking for. The TR in 17ac is ‘terrier discontented’ – ie. ‘terrier’ without its contents. That’s three IoS reprints in one week I believe…

  2. AndyT said

    I have heard of 3ac, which isn’t to say that I have a clue what she does. No doubt there will be howls of derision from Cornick … anyway, “bah” to that one. Didn’t care for 7d much either, and considered 19ac tediously convoluted. Otherwise, a decent challenge which kept me out of mischief for longer than usual.

  3. Cornick said

    Well I guessed 3a had to be that kind of anchor, but it’s a term I rather associate with the USA, so my thoughts went to Anchorman (that’s a movie, Andy 🙂 ). Hence I scratched the old bonce for far too long on that one (along with a few others) and it was my LOI.
    Interesting that an anagram was so hard to spot, despite having the very clear indicator ‘moved’.

Comments are closed.

