i Cryptic Crossword 1718 Tees

August 11, 2016

Solvers back in the day found this quite tough, but I thought that it was, for the most part, about par for the i. That said, there were one or two I didn’t fully follow the wordplay on (8d, I’m looking at you), and I had to cheat on 18d at the end. An obscure answer with two fairly obscure bits of wordplay (no, I’m not particularly au fait with currencies of the middle east) = one confused solver. The rest was pretty fair, though I know some will complain about the use of a setter’s name in 8d.

Lots to like, with some inventive wordplay as expected from Tees. COD? 23ac, if only for the definition alone – ‘Shout at one repaying loan or more? (8)’.

Back to the end of 2011 on Fifteensquared:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/29/independent-7864-tees/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1718 Tees”

  1. dtw42 said

    Swings and roundabouts. I was fine with the rial and the end o’ Morph, but felt that the Moro and ryokan were too obscure for my liking. Anyone else think 20dn was a bit of a rubbish clue?

  2. AndyT said

    Perfectly happy with 18d; 22ac was clearly indicated if obscure; 2d – mildly annoying, and 8d provoked a snigger. Unsurprisingly it was 27ac which irritated me: I am proud of my ignorance of Association football and feel no shame whatsoever about consulting Google to identify the gentleman in question. Agreed with dtw42 about 20, which was indeed a bit rubbish if you ask me.

    I was slightly distracted at first by the headline on the adjacent page: “Stone Age hunters ‘used rocks as weapons to kill'”, which surely qualifies for a Sherlock Holmes award.

  3. Cornick said

    A real mix of difficulty – hardest in NW corner, I thought.

    It is a curiosity that, whereas uxoriousness (excessive fondness for one’s wife) is relatively common – at least down our way – its counterpart ‘maritoriousness’ is almost unheard of.

    John Terry has captained England 34 times… Still not well known enough for some though AndyT!

    • AndyT said

      Oh, I’ve heard the name – wouldn’t know enough to associate him with Chelsea or a defensive role though. 😉

      • Cornick said

        I have a similar wilful ignorance when it comes to soap operas. I suspect ‘Eastenders’ might be in London and that ‘The Archers’ might be people. And that’s it.

Comments are closed.

