i Cryptic Crossword 1715 Raich

August 8, 2016

A fairly straightforward, enjoyable puzzle from Raich today. 16ac caused me some grief at the close, despite having worked out fairly early on what queen was probably referred to in the wordplay. My ignorance regarding French place names rather than any fault on the setter’s part is to blame though. 😉 An old friend makes an appearance in 23ac, but as he’s one of only two golfers I can name, I won’t complain.

Lots of ticks by the clues today, but COD goes to 1ac – ‘Slowly unloaded returning vehicle – custom in old port? (8)’.

Twas the week before Christmas:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/18/independent-on-sunday-1139raich/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1715 Raich”

  1. AndyT said

    French place names tend to dampen my spirits too, but luckily that one came to mind promptly. It occurs to me that I can probably name a surprising number of golfers, but for crossword purposes one will usually do. 🙂 Yes, a nice entertaining start to the week.

  2. Cornick said

    I wonder if anyone else (pardon the pun) put in G-R+ACE for 23a? Held me up briefly but Raich makes a good Monday setter I reckon, so no complaints.

  3. allan_c said

    One of the few IoS puzzles I did back in 2011. No conscious memory of it but I see I commented on the blog. However, the link to the meaning of ‘Raise Cain’ now gives a 404 page not found error; an alternative is http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/raising-cain.html

Comments are closed.

