i Cryptic Crossword 1712 Anarche

August 4, 2016

Well, wasn’t that good? A little easier perhaps than her previous offerings in the i, but no less inventive, with lots of ticks by the clues. More like this please.

COD? 19d – ‘Imagine failing to start cryptic puzzle! (6)’.

We’re back to Christmas 2011 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/15/independent-7852-by-anarche/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1712 Anarche”

  1. dtw42 said

    Very nice; the definitions at 20ac and 10dn were particularly sneaky. Queries over on fifteensquared about 13ac being “some kind of record” bring to mind the famous “Some job at hand? We’ll soon see (4,3,5)” by Virgilius, which equates to the same length.

    I think I’d seen 1dn before so that was first in. 24ac and 15dn were my last ones in, particularly the latter, where the parsing was complicated.

  2. AndyT said

    A pleasure, as usual – and I think Jon’s right to say that this was on the easy side for Anarche. 1d is mildly notorious, having been featured in her setter profile over at the Guardian – and thoroughly discussed in the comments. It took me a long time to remember that, of course. Anyway, plenty of mischief and cheek to provoke the odd snigger today, and I’d hate to have to pick a COD. It might have been 20ac though: loved that one.

  3. Cornick said

    Crossword of the week so far and another delightful collection of wit and invention from this setter. She’s nudging her way into my top three alongside Paul and Virgilius – though I can’t mention favourites without mentioning my admiration for Klingsor, Anax, Eimi, Dac… Gawd, I love em all!

  4. Cornick said

    Tim Morey quotes the following as a really long hidden word clue: “As seen in jab, reach of pro miserably failing to meet expectations (6,2,7)” for BREACH OF PROMISE.

Comments are closed.

