i Cryptic Crossword 1711 Dac

August 3, 2016

Let’s play Spot The Clumsy Clue, shall we?

How did you do? No, me neither. As the first commenter on the Fifteensquared blog of this puzzle observes, one may as well copy-paste last week’s remarks since Dac is so very reliable. There’s a rather trenchant complaint about perceived obscurities in comment 5, which baffles me since all the solutions were readily derived from wordplay alone – and the two Victorian novels are both from the premier division, surely? (We had Hardy’s “A Laodicean” recently: now that’s more like it). Maybe Dac was playing to my long suits today, but there was nothing unfamiliar: in fact the puzzle struck me as one of his gentler ones.

Once again I have a welter of ticks and a wide selection of COD candidates to winnow out. Honourable mentions for 5, 14 and 18ac; 2, 6, 8 and 15d, however today’s pick is 12ac:

“A number travelled through part of Northern Ireland without resistance (6-3)”

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1711 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    A fast time says that this was on the easier side for Dac, but a few things I didn’t know – the fabric at 6d, the musical phrase at 8d, the Vera in question at 1ac, and the novel at 4d made it feel anything but. Fumbling along and thinking – well, that’s got to be it – saved the day. And I learnt a few new things along the way, so no complaints.

  2. sprouthater said

    I couldn’t solve 1a from the wordplay having no idea who Vera Miles was but it was easily solved from the synonym and checking letters. Didn’t Think much to 6d either. All the rest was fine.

  3. Cornick said

    Good puzzle, even if not up to the dizzying heights of last Wednesday’s.
    Strange that commenters equate having seen Psycho with knowing who Vera Miles is… We don’t all study the film credits!
    Obscurities, then (Courtelle was another) – but all decipherable for me apart from Adam Bede. Not my long suit at all.

  4. dtw42 said

    I was fine with Vera and The Moonstone, but courtelle bogged me down. I’m sure the clues were perfectly sound but it wasn’t my favourite.
    Today’s Anarche, on the other hand, is – as expected – peppered with cheeky definitions. Will be interested to see the discussions of THAT a bit later…

Comments are closed.

