i Cryptic Crossword 1710 Eimi

August 2, 2016

A themed puzzle from our editor based on this person:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_Mason

I knew the character, and had vaguely heard of the author, but missed the other thematic elements which I had to look up after solving.

I usually find Eimi pretty straightforward, but in common with Flashling over on Fifteensquared found this on the difficult side. 7d was originally corrected online to say ‘drug’ rather than ‘drugs’, apparently, which sorts one of several question marks I had against the clues. The rest are explained ably over on the other side.

COD? 29ac – ‘What the Crafty Cockney might have said ‘e did before throwing ‘is arrows back in noncommittal stance (8)’.

Is this our first 2012 reprint?

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/01/24/independent-7886-by-eimi/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1710 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    Splendid fun, I thought. Didn’t link 11/10/26 with all the various characters dotted around of course, but never having read the books that’s forgivable, I hope. Many good clues today, but agreed on your choice of COD: very chortlesome, that one.

    Not the first from 2012 – the most recent Dac was from January 4th.

  2. dtw42 said

    The theme passed me by, and I put in 7dn and 27dn without understanding how they were supposed to work, but otherwise fine and straightforward enough 🙂

  3. sprouthater said

    I now know the authors name isn’t Earl. Didn’t spot the theme. Never heard of 9a or 20a but didn’t spoil the puzzle for me.

  4. Cornick said

    Struggled.
    Crime novels are not my thing and Erle Stanley Gardner doesn’t ring even the remotest of bells for me.
    Never mind.
    Liked 2d very much though.

    Last Saturday’s prize – still to be blogged of course – was from January 6th.

Comments are closed.

