I Cryptic Crossword 1707 Hypnos

July 29, 2016

Nothing too difficult here with just a couple of obscurities (for me), 4a GOP for the Republican Party and 5d. Apart from that it was generally straightforward. Too many references to people, living or dead for my liking, why Denver in 16d? who wasn’t really known as a guitarist. I tried to find an answer which contained Boot as it was the only thing I new that was associated with Denver. None of the clues stood out as outstanding so COD for no real reason is

4d  Decoration hidden by flag on grandstand  (4)

The blog from November 2011 is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/11/27/independent-on-sunday-1136-by-hypnos/

5 Responses to “I Cryptic Crossword 1707 Hypnos”

  1. dtw42 said

    Finished this a lot more easily than yesterday’s though.

  2. Cornick said

    Enjoyable and a bit easier than some by Hypnos.
    I always think of John Denver rather more for his pretty wonderful singing voice than his plectrum work, but was prepared to go with it.
    Last one in was 21d in which the word ‘giving’ was a link word from answer to wordplay. There are some purists (I suppose I must be one of them) who would say it should be wordplay > giving > answer, not the other way around.

  3. AndyT said

    Rather workaday compared to the last couple of puzzles – not bad though.

  4. PurpleJumper said

    Didn’t know Warren Buffett. And is “fool” the same as “git”?

Comments are closed.

