i Cryptic Crossword 1704 by Crosophile

July 26, 2016

A pleasing and largely accessible puzzle by Crosophile, with just a couple of bits of Crosswordese (LAM at 27a seems to crop up an awful lot these days) to deter the uninitiated. The = OUR at 1d was new to me and in 21d I think the parsing is learning = lore which sounds like LAW; with the definition being just ‘principle’…  I think.

Amongst the half dozen or so clues I particularly liked, and just pipping 4a, I’ll pick out 16d as my nomination for COD. Here it is again:

Tenor confirms soprano’s missing lots of valuables (9)

And if you click here you won’t just get the full answers & parsing, you’ll also get a poem by Tennyson which has several of its words in the grid; can you guess which one?

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1704 by Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    It’s got to the stage where I’m not giving this setter a fair hearing, most likely, so it’s just as well it’s Cornick’s turn today. A fair bit of lip curling and harrumphing here, and as for that OUR – oh, please. There are times when the Chambers dictionary is an absolute curse on the crossword solving public, when compilers take the view that anything in it is fair game. Probably best if I shut up now … :-/

  2. sprouthater said

    This setter has produced a few clunkers in the past but this one, with the exception of a couple dubious clues, was pretty good. 21d was my loi and only went in because I couldn’t think of anything else. Favourite was 2d.

  3. dtw42 said

    Same here re 21dn. Didn’t think much of our=the at 1dn either. Most of the rest was fine though 🙂

Comments are closed.

