i Cryptic Crossword1703 Eimi

July 25, 2016

Quixote’s long tenure in the Monday slot appears to be over; Jon of Wales is taking a well-earned break this week. So it’s all change. Eimi is admirably qualified to step into the breach of course … not so sure about the blogger, mind.

Today’s puzzle was a little cracker if you ask me, nicely pitched at a gentle Mondayish level, but with some extra sparkle and a pangram for those who like such things. Mostly read-and-write fare with just the one mild obscurity at 14d, readily deducible from the wordplay by non-mycologists. I confess to “solving” the long anagrams at 23/9 and 25ac by letter count and ticking them off afterwards – always a danger with long phrases like that. Favourites? 8, 19 and 20 were pleasing; COD for me is the admirably concise 22d:

“Club, not clubs (6)”

The crossword dates back to November 2011, a time when civil disobedience was in the news and a large encampment had appeared outside St Paul’s cathedral, so there’s a mini-theme along those lines which could well go unnoticed nowadays. It’s mentioned in passing at Fifteensquared.

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword1703 Eimi”

  1. dtw42 said

    14dn was my last one in. Interesting that the i has now been going long enough that the old Indy blogs are now referring to it!

    Must admit that as a dedicated football-ignorer, I started this one by googling Harry Kane just for confirmation that the answer was what it looked like it was going to be. Definitely not a fan of soccer references, but that’s just my personal prejudice so nothing to criticise Eimi for.

  2. StanXYZ said

    With the mention of Harry Kane … I thought this was a new one. But no! It’s from 2011. (Editor’s licence, I presume?)

    Being a regular “i” do the “i” – Thanks for the blog, all the “i” Bloggers!

  3. Jimbo said

    I think the original clue referenced Gareth Bale, if a comment on 15×2 is to be believed. Since Bale moved to Real Madrid a year or three back, the clue needed updating to still make sense. Good spot by the editor.

    • batarde said

      Eimi is the editor, so well placed to catch this one. Must say that I share dtw42’s prejudice, so this was another solution which went in on the strength of letter count and the definition – without me feeling the need to find out anything about Mr Kane.

  4. sprouthater said

    My complete lack of interest in football didn’t spoil my enjoyment of this puzzle. Particularly liked 1d and 14d. 13a and 20d were my obscurities.

  5. Cornick said

    Fortuitous indeed that a team with a recent history as chequered as Tottingham’s should have produced another household name pretty much exactly four years after the last.

Comments are closed.

