i Cryptic Crossword 1700 Tees

July 21, 2016

Apologies for the lateness of the blog, it has turned into one of those days. 🙂 Luckily for you this is my last for a week as I head off to sunnier climes. Well, West Wales.

I sometimes struggle with Tees, but found this for the most part pretty straightforward. I say for the most part, because I found the SE corner a little tricky, especially 17d and 27ac. No nina today it would appear, though I thought we were onto Welsh place names for a while when both 18ac and 19d appeared in close proximity.

COD? 14ac – ‘Obsession for woman astride Arab (9)’.

Back to November 2011 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/11/30/independent-7839tees/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1700 Tees”

  1. AndyT said

    Quite a gentle one for a Thursday, a bit heavy on the anagrams. Agreed on the COD, but 17 was amusing too.

  2. Cornick said

    Yes, 8 anagrams is 3 more than The Times would allow.
    Also agree on 14a, even though I usually dislike forenames being used in clues. Would also put in a shout for 6d.
    New meanings for 1a and 8d made me glad to own a good wordbook.
    Several Mount Markhams – biggest is in Antarctica.

  3. sprouthater said

    Enjoyed this quite a lot, the anagrams certainly helped me complete it. Don’t really get 5d though.

Comments are closed.

