i Cryptic Crossword 1699 Dac

July 20, 2016

Last Wednesday’s puzzle was a bit heavy on general (or not-so-general) knowledge, but this one is more in Dac’s usual line with the emphasis firmly on scintillating wordplay. One of the best of recent weeks, in my opinion – provided you can recall a football manager of yore and conjugate French irregular verbs, that is. Had you asked me beforehand whether I thought either was within my capabilities I’d have expressed doubts … but as it turned out both were familiar.

Lots of good stuff today and a rather difficult choice when it comes to the COD. 4d and 17ac are both crackers, but not everyone appreciates being tested on foreign languages so I shall rule those out, with a measure of regret. 4, 20 and 26 across were all good enough to be winners, but it will surprise nobody to find that my choice is the cheeky little &lit at 8d:

“With these ultimately lovemaking’s over (4)”

Analysis, appreciative comments and discussion of divers matters (including biblical eschatology and heavy metal bands of the 1980s) may be found by clicking here, which will whisk you back to the Fifteensquared blog from December 2011.

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1699 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Some lovely clues as ever from Dac, a bit tougher in places than usual I thought. 4d in particular had me scratching my head.

  2. dtw42 said

    4dn was my last one in by a long way

  3. Cornick said

    4d was easy enough for me, he boasts, but I pulled up short in my attempt at this puzzle with two empty squares in the NW corner. WASP, apparently. Heigh-ho.
    Loved it overall though – one of Dac’s finest. Agree with your COD and list of good’uns, Batarde, and would also mention 9 & 11a.

Comments are closed.

