i Cryptic Crossword 1695 Eimi

July 15, 2016

A good puzzle from the crossword editor, though perhaps a little tougher than I’ve found his offerings to be in the past. The long answers fell quickly enough though, and the rest steadily from thereon in. 14d I couldn’t find in my electronic copy of the big red book. Though I was solving hovering by the side of a hospital bed at the time, so butter fingers may be to blame. LOI 5d.

COD? 1d – ‘Lord Chancellor has written terribly drily on case law (8,6)’.

December 2011 today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/05/independent-7843eimi/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1695 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    Quite chewy, I thought. Not particularly taken with that “kip” business, but otherwise all fair enough. I had two COD candidates and couldn’t choose between them: 1d and 8d.

  2. Cornick said

    Hrrmph. Failed on IDEOPHONE, failed on TRIDECANE. Well, I looked up the latter – a plausible answer – in BRB but found it not.

    In general I thought this made heavy demands on the intuitive guesswork side of things (1a, 24a, 18a and a few others) which don’t really yield to technical analysis. Not the hardest of the week, but the hardest to finish!

    • jonofwales said

      It wasn’t just me then. The Wikipedia entry for TRIDECANE references the wonderfully named ‘southern green stink bug’ as a natural source. 🙂

  3. allan_c said

    Interesting to see the speculation in the comments on the 15sq blog as to whether the i cryptics are recycled from the indy, now that we know they are. And this was another one that I had no recollection of doing when it first appeared, yet I obviously did. And I struggled with some this time around, although I did know TRIDECANE, being a (retired) chemist.

Comments are closed.

