i Cryptic Crossword 1694 Morph

July 14, 2016

Well, that was a battle and a half. I got there in the end, but had as many question marks against the clues as the Fifteensquared blogger. The regional accents theme I twigged fairly early on, which helped with one or two, but left me somewhat bemused elsewhere. A few smiles along the way, as expected with Morph, so a happy if somewhat beleaguered solver.

COD? 1d – ‘Vintage 10 puzzle (4)’, if only because it sent me off on a wild goose chase of trying to remember ancient 10’s.

Back to November 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/11/21/independent-7831-by-morph/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1694 Morph”

  1. dtw42 said

    Yeeees. I’ve just managed to drag myself to the finish of that. Very clever, quite entertaining, but still pretty difficult. I got the general idea early on (especially having solved 7dn near the beginning), and was sent on the same wild goose chase as you re 1dn. As it happens, 1ac and 1dn ended up being my last ones in, probably because the latter is a word I think of only as meaning “the heart of the matter” rather than “a puzzle”, but you live and learn … or at any rate you live.
    My CoD would be 5dn, which garnered a chuckle.

  2. AndyT said

    I thought it was fantastic, rivalling Tuesday’s Scorpion puzzle. Fourteen ticks – unheard of. I particularly liked 22d, tucked away in the SW corner of course, but would have to agree with dtw42 about 5d. Three cheers for Morph. 🙂

  3. Cornick said

    One of Morph’s best ever I thought – and he’s done some corkers. When he gets an idea he can really make it work and this was terrific.
    1d, 5d and 22d were all great, but I’d also put in a mention for 14d which ticked all the boxes – themed, clever construction and a great surface that was completely misleading.

Comments are closed.

