i Cryptic Crossword 1692 Scorpion

July 12, 2016

Well, what exactly have the Romans ever done for us?

Wasn’t that good? It took four or five of the themed answers to fall into place before it was clear what was going on, and it was only when I popped over to Fifteensquared that I noticed that the definition referenced so many times was literally staring me in the face all along. A very impressive accomplishment, and fun too. Tough, as you expect from Scorpion, but once you spotted what was going on, and if you were familiar with the film, then everything worked out quite nicely.

COD? 17d – ‘Eyed up fish bones (3)’.

Twas the week before Christmas:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/20/independent-7856-scorpion-all-roads/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1692 Scorpion”

  1. AndyT said

    I am the one who has not seen the film – not that it’s necessary considering how many people see fit to quote from it frequently and at length. Regarding the puzzle, that’s just about as good as it gets, surely? Outstanding even for Scorpion, who gets a round of applause from me.

  2. dtw42 said

    For once, I understood the phrasing in the themed clues quickly enough to find the quotation and thereby twig to the theme very early on. Since it is a familiar film to me, that made this more a case of “okay, let’s look at the 9-letter slots and see which one of them can be ‘education'”, etc.
    Of course it was slightly easier as a consequence, but still fun and an admirable construction.

  3. Cornick said

    More praise from me for Scorpion, and our second in 10 days to feature initial letters of all the clues – I shall have to be on the look out now, because I missed this one, staring me in the face and instructed to look for it 10 times though I was.
    When nmsindy wrote: ‘Was glad the initial letters idea was indicated as a preamble’ – did he mean a preamble we at the i weren’t privy to?

    • jonofwales said

      I didn’t spot that. Wonder what it could have said that wouldn’t have given the game away?

      • Cornick said

        Don’t know. Maybe he just meant the ‘an answer to all clues initially’ bit. I’m slightly unsure because Phi’s thousandth had a preamble apparently… Heigh ho!

  4. StanXYZ said

    Very entertaining … I must have missed something but I thought that Quebec was a province not a city.

    Thanks to all the bloggers on the “i”.

    Buy the “i” it’s only 40p

Comments are closed.

