i Cryptic Crossword 1691 Poins

July 11, 2016

A pretty straightforward start to the week, with a little difficulty, for me, at least, at 1ac and 28ac. A good, solid puzzle for a Monday, though perhaps as Uncle Yap noted in 2011 lacking a little sparkle.

COD? 19ac – ‘Imaginary rock musician (7)’.

Almost Christmas on Fifteensquared:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/04/independent-on-sunday-1137-by-poins/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1691 Poins”

  1. AndyT said

    Not in the least impressed by this one, sad to say. I’d like to nominate 7d as the clumsiest clue to appear in the i in recent times.

  2. dtw42 said

    Took me a while, but I thought it was okay. Certainly nothing “sparkling” (as Uncle Yap put it on fifteensquared). 28ac was my last one in and a bit of an “oh well I suppose it must be…”, though I didn’t think much of the clue.

  3. Cornick said

    This had the feel of a puzzle that was supposed to be easy, was indeed mostly easy but was actually really hard to finish because of a few clues with nigh on impossible leaps for the solver to make.
    1a and 28a were two such. A timecard records the movement of one hand, surely?

Comments are closed.

