i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1684 by Phi

July 9, 2016

Saturday 2nd July  2016

In October 2011 Phi’s thousandth puzzle appeared in the Independent. Last Saturday’s i printed the online version, but the original ‘dead tree’ version was un-numbered, you just fitted the 26 solutions in like a jigsaw puzzle wherever they would go.  Each clue started with a different letter of the alphabet; put the initial letters of their solutions in the alphabetical order of their clues and you would have generated the message: PHI’S THOUSANDTH DAILY CRYPTIC.  So belated congratulations to Paul Henderson.

To have deduced all that without the original accompanying rubric would have been rather hard, I think. Personally I felt sure something was going on, but could only see ‘maniac’, ‘drone’, ‘cane’ and ‘easy’ in the unches – all completely insignificant, it turned out.

As to the clues – well good, solid stuff as ever from Phi. I’ve never thought of Prospero as a hero, exactly and the complications of 10a needed to be justified by the conceit, but otherwise no complaints.

My COD , narrowly beating 14a, goes to 2d, which will doubtless have also been appreciated by JonofWales. Here it is again:

2d  Terrible climbing, chasing scoundrel and man up Welsh peak (5,5)

And the original blog with answers, parsing and comments is here .

 

 

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1684 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Clearly quite a few subtleties passed me by, then – I was just a little perturbed to find a maniac with a drone hiding in the grid. Solid and enjoyable as you say, which is quite an achievement what with all that other stuff going on. The highly unusual 10ac was my favourite, but there are plenty of ticks including the others you mention.

  2. jonofwales said

    I failed miserably to spot anything that might have been going on in the grid. And, to my shame, I needed the wordplay and crossing letters to get the Welsh peak. 🙂

  3. Rick King said

    Failed on satori, otherwise a good one for me…probably as well I didn’t have to contend with the added complication of the original. Thanks for the blog, and belated congratulations to phi.

Comments are closed.

