i Cryptic Crossword 1689 Punk

July 8, 2016

It’s been a while since we’ve seen Punk in these parts, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect today. What we got, despite this being a reprinted prize puzzle, is on the easier side for him, though with a bit of a sting in the tail in the NW corner. 1ac I guessed was a variation on the more familiar Fee-Fi-Fo-Fum, but it took me a while to figure out the middle bit. 2d/5d also caused me a little difficulty. 14ac I’m guessing would have sprung to mind a lot more readily 5 years ago than it did today.

COD? Lots to choose from, but I’ll go with 24ac – ‘A male sleazeball in prison vehicle (6,3)’.

Back to November 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/11/26/independent-7830-punk-saturday-prize-puzzle-19-november-2011/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1689 Punk”

  1. dtw42 said

    Yeah, I enjoyed this one. I had the same problem as you with 1ac – it was clearly an unfamiliar variant of a familiar phrase. This was the only one I had to go and hoick out the dictionary for. For me, 2dn was one of those where you get a smug feeling at knowing an obscure word that you’re sure many others will be scratching their heads over. 5dn was last in.
    and 24ac was my CoD too – that or 7dn, just for their use of such informal English.

  2. dtw42 said

    (Note that on the page opposite was an article about “Vatileaks” which might/could help those puzzling over 14ac/)

  3. AndyT said

    Pretty gentle by this setter’s usual standards I thought, but still entertaining. To those who were familiar with 2d, well done. I was not, but no doubt it will come in handy. Plenty of ticks here, including a particularly emphatic one for the worthy COD.

  4. Cornick said

    Yup, that was my COD too.
    Having read 1a first, I knew it had to be something like that, so went diving for the dictionary at the outset – glad I did…
    Enjoyable and eminently solvable from there on in until 2d, new to me and hard, even whilst being certain I needed to fit C I S Y into E_ D_S_A_T. Still, tis is Punk, so waddya expect!

Comments are closed.

