i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1678 by Phi

July 2, 2016

Saturday 25th June  2016

In which every word contained an A. Phi tells us in the comments over at the original Fifteensquared blog that the idea only occurred to him during clueing when he noticed how many words happened to have an A in, upon which he tweaked the few lights which didn’t.  Which is strange, because, with Phi, a grid pattern like this invariably means there’s something going on!

Anyhow, above average number of ticks by clues last Saturday, and my clue of the day goes to 13a. Here it is again:

Group of stars raced back to party for artist (8)

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1678 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Eh? Yet another subtlety goes flying over my head, then. A healthy complement of ticks from me too, and a marginal comment to the effect that it was a breezy puzzle rather than a difficult one.

    I was beginning to suspect that a pattern of alternating hard- and soft-boiled Saturday puzzles was starting to emerge, but having sailed through today’s that idea has gone for a burton. Wonder what I missed this time?

    • Cornick said

      Having abundant A’s really aint a massive deal, Andy.
      Ooh look, I just did it then! .
      But it does open the door for an E puzzle or an I puzzle etc…

  2. jonofwales said

    A pretty straightforward offering, and yes, I missed all the A’s too. Also missed what was going on this week. 😉

  3. Rick King said

    Took a while but this all fell into place eventually, the a motif was lost on me too. Time to start on this week’s offering…

Comments are closed.

