i Cryptic Crossword 1680 Raich

June 28, 2016

A nice breezy solve from Raich today that only held me up a little in the SE corner, 24ac/24d in particular. For once I spotted the theme, which I thought was going to be girl names in general, until the Nina appeared in the left and right hand columns.

COD? It’s quite a simple clue, really, but I thought it was neat. 27ac – ‘She works in sales with added energy (4)’.

Back to 2011 for this IoS reprint:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/11/20/independent-on-sunday-1135raich/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1680 Raich”

  1. dtw42 said

    Yay, finished this one okay, AND spotted the nina/theme (albeit quite late; the nina helped e solve 17ac). 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    I started out by making a mental note to look out for a nina, in view of the grid. Enjoyed myself solving the puzzle, and spotted the theme, had a little chuckle about that … and completely forgot about the nina. Anyway, full marks to Raich for producing an entertaining thematic crossword with no irritating obscurities.

  3. Cornick said

    Ditto to all of that. Thank you Raich.

  4. Tony said

    Help me out folks. What is a Nina? Maybe I’m not that bright! Is it ‘name in a….’?

    • jonofwales said

      Hi Tony. A nina’s a hidden message / name in a crossword grid. It comes from the artist Al Hirschfeld, who used to hide his daughter’s name Nina in his drawings.

    • AndyT said

      And “hi” from me too, Tony. When I mentioned the grid, what I meant is that when you see a lot of unchecked squares around the edges that’s a cue to be on the lookout for a nina, although they sometimes lurk in the unches running through the middle of the puzzle. I’m convinced that I’m the worst nina spotter in the world: today’s was staring me in the face, but I still missed it.

Comments are closed.

