i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1672 by Phi

June 25, 2016

 

Saturday 18th June  2016

Towards the tougher end of things by Phi’s standards, and I agree with the first commenter at the original Fifteensquared blog here that, in the main, we needed to be working out the wordplay rather than guessing than answer from the definition.

There was some discussion on the other channel about VOTRESS at 21a. I know it well enough from ‘The Dream’ which I reckon I’ve seen at least a dozen times (one of the drawbacks of living in Cornwall is that touring companies like the RSC give you the same 3 or 4 plays again and again – what, The Tempest again?!).

For me 3d SUPERMINI was the trickiest clue in the puzzle, and my favourite… hmm, let me see… I’ll nominate my first one in, 14a:

Working as partners? South American sounds incredulous (2,7)

2 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1672 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    “A real grind” it says in my best copperplate in the margin. A complete contrast to the previous Saturday’s, anyway (and to the current prize puzzle, as it happens). Super stuff throughout, and you’ll hear no complaints from me. Have to agree with the COD, which did rather jump off the page as the leading candidate.

  2. jonofwales said

    I don’t remember much about this one, but I did time myself and it was a decent enough time, so it doesn’t seem to have caused me that many difficulties. A bit slower than the week before though.

Comments are closed.

