i Cryptic Crossword 1675 Dac

June 22, 2016

One of Dac’s gentler puzzles today, and I doubt it will have given much trouble. There are a couple of quibbles relating to 4d and 27ac, neither of which bothered me in the slightest but caused some muttering amongst the Fifteensquared brigade back in December 2011. Nothing to occasion a major headache, I’m sure. Some good long ones this time at 8, 9 and 10, but my clue of the day is 13ac: a nice little exercise in misdirection:

“Sunday job not initially available to altar boy (8)”

Simplicity itself really, but it amused me.

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1675 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    After yesterday’s epic struggle this came as a bit of light relief. All we expect from Dac, with lots of ticks by the clues. I had to check 25ac, though with the checking letters there weren’t too many possibilities. 🙂 13ac was good, wasn’t it?

  2. sprouthater said

    13 and 15 across both struck me as excellent. I thought 4d was a bit iffy. My loi was 19a struggled with that until realising i’d got 16d wrong:-)

  3. Cornick said

    Dac showing us how it’s done.
    Held up slightly by intially entering ‘out of the closet’ for 9a, as the actual metaphor for ‘disregarded’ was unfamiliar.
    Re 4d, I could imagine retracing steps as involving discovery… ‘Ah, so this is where we went’ sort of thing; and 27a was a cracker, so no complaints at all.

Comments are closed.

