i Cryptic Crossword 1674 Radian

June 21, 2016

Challenging stuff from Radian today that left me feeling more relieved than satisfied by the time I’d finished, I’m afraid. Doubles is our theme of the day, which should in retrospect have helped with some clues I was struggling with, but never quite seemed to. I thought for a while we were on course for a double pangram as well, but we’re a few letters short. A few obscurities I didn’t like, ‘IN’ for ‘Lit’ in 3d chief amongst them.

COD? 29ac – ‘Court battles climax in deliberate obfuscation (11)’.

December 2011 already?

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/06/independent-7844radian/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1674 Radian”

  1. AndyT said

    Smart-alecky showing off of the worst kind, in my opinion, but it seemed to go down well enough over in Fifteensquared land. To be fair, there were a few corking clues (of which 2d was my favourite), but some of those surfaces were out and out gobbledegook. Despite the lavatorial tone of 8d there wasn’t a great deal of wit on show all told. Sorry, not really my thing.

  2. dtw42 said

    I gave up with only about a third of it done. Worst result for me in a long time.

  3. Cornick said

    Another fail here. Nothing in that NW corner at all apart from 1d and 9a. My worst showing for ages and, looking at Fifteensquared, I doubt I’d have ever finished.
    Yod is a letter in the Hebrew alphabet, apparently though not in either of my dictionaries.

Comments are closed.

