i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1666 by Phi

June 18, 2016

Saturday 11th June  2016

This was an ideal puzzle for less experienced solvers. I suspect there might be quite a few who were cock-a-hoop at finishing an i puzzle for the first time.  Equally, if anyone times themselves, this might very well have been a PB.

For those wanting a stiffer challenge – well, why not try the Inquisitor?

My favourite clue was 4d:

Certainly troops in centre of Greece would be something one wouldn’t want to see (7)

One minor quibble though. Following on from a recent duplication of ‘working’ as an anagram indicator, this time Phi had ‘university’ abbreviated to U twice in the same crossword, which is a bit of a no-no.

The original Fifteensquared blog from 2011 is here.

 

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1666 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I don’t time myself, but it was certainly a very quick one – unlike today’s. 4d pleased me too, as did 18ac.

  2. jonofwales said

    For once I appear not to have timed myself, but I did note that it was pretty straightforward. Seem to have struggled with 15/16 at the end. Good to get an easier Phi after several that were quite tricky.

  3. Rick King said

    Easy or not it’s always good to finish one!

Comments are closed.

