i Cryptic Crossword 1670 Anarche

June 16, 2016

Another puzzle from Anarche that was certainly inventive, but also pretty tough. Some bits here and there I thought a little obscure / off – HOW for hill, C for many, FAR for much, ‘Manx cat’, amongst others. Not sure either if I love or loathe 3d. 🙂 Lots to like at the same time, perhaps this is one where, if I’d had more time, I might have appreciated it more.

COD? 27ac – ‘Statement of policies and aims, often unreliable (9)’.

October 2011 over on Fifteensquared:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/10/20/independent-7804-by-anarche/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1670 Anarche”

  1. dtw42 said

    Ah well I found this middling on the toughness scale – after all, I did finish it on my own before lunch. As with practically everybody else, 3dn was last in just because I couldn’t grasp what the “What’s left” stuff was about.

  2. sprouthater said

    Really enjoyed this even with all the obscurities. 25a and 31a both struck me as excellent.

  3. AndyT said

    It’s turning out to be a good week for crosswords in the i, isn’t it? Loved this one, my sole quibble being with “far” for “much” as Jon mentioned. I suppose it’s too much to hope that Punk might put in an appearance tomorrow?

  4. Cornick said

    Sparkling stuff. Loved it. Couldn’t see parsing for TRIO at 3d and, although it’s been alluded to several times in comments and even on this site, I don’t think anyone has actually explained it yet – or did I miss something? Please help!

    • Cornick said

      Oh, it’s okay, Pelham Barton answered it in the comments. Fair cop guv. Thought it might have had something to do with being 3d, but that’s pretty nifty.

Comments are closed.

