i Cryptic Crossword 1668 Scorpion

June 14, 2016

I was looking for a theme, as it’s Tuesday, and when I was a little stuck at the end on 1d I looked even harder, but decided in the end that there wasn’t one. It turns out that there are chocolates galore scattered about the grid, close to my heart indeed, even if they all managed to pass me by today. Slow solving, as you expect from this setter, but nothing that wasn’t solvable with a little patience, and you didn’t need to spot the theme to finish. Total time a little over par for the i.

COD? 6d – ‘Uses toilet across yard with mostly split chain (8)’.

Some debate over on Fifteensquared about the grid, though I have to say I didn’t notice today, and it didn’t present me with any difficulties:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/10/25/independent-7808-scorpion/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1668 Scorpion”

  1. AndyT said

    Chocolates … missed that completely. 🙂

    Yes, it is a difficult grid and Scorpion is a devious setter – but I’m a fan so that’s all right then. Besides, one hopes for something on the tougher side from the Tuesday puzzle. That’s the best tally of ticks in quite a while, and for me COD would be a toss up between 6 and 20d. Sterling stuff.

  2. sprouthater said

    Not just chocolates, we had mints, polo, refreshers and tictac too, so this really was a chewy puzzle. Reg Harris beat me and 18a because I entered Pyrenees, oh well. My likes were 2d and 27a.

  3. dtw42 said

    Ha, I finished the grid but completely missed the theme, too. Weird as it’s so obvious in retrospect!

  4. Cornick said

    With a grid like that, and on a Tuesday too, there just had to be a theme or Nina, so I kept looking for both throughout but, given that this filled from the bottom up, the sweets weren’t obvious until about three quarters of the way through.
    Tricky around 3, 4 & 6 down… Reg who? And in the same clue as the dodgy RR/ limosine non-synonym? Hmm. Bit chewy for me.

  5. dtw42 said

    Yeah, must admit I’d never heard of him either – worked it out from the wordplay and then googled the name to see who he was.

  6. allan_c said

    Another puzzle that I had absolutely no memory of doing when it first appeared in the Indy – yet I obviously did because I commented on the original blog. And this time I struggled with it and had to resort to a word finder for 3ac and 5dn. Strange!

Comments are closed.

