i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1660 by Phi

June 11, 2016

Saturday 4th June  2016

Phi was doing his best to introduce us to a bit of culture last weekend, with the Classic Italian film ‘Bicycle Thieves’ and Renaissance poem ‘Orlando Furioso’ forming the heart of this grid.  You’ll doubtless know both well; I knew neither in the slightest.  Suk and Rilke both rang a bell though and Vivaldi, well, even my goldfish knows Vivaldi, so that doesn’t count.

Apparently Phi had accidentally made the puzzle a pangram, which surely supports the view that pangrams really aren’t such a big deal.  After all, a typical puzzle contains 23-odd letters of the alphabet in anyhow (judging by my sample of one).

The blogger at Fifteensquared picked out 10a, 29a, 16d and 19d as favourite clues, but I rather liked ACIDIC at 21d with ‘I’ being entered twice (ones variously) into AC/DC (currents), so it gets my nomination for Clue Of the Day

And you can check out that blog in full by clicking here.

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1660 by Phi”

  1. jonofwales said

    Must admit this wasn’t my favourite puzzle of the week, with the many obscurities getting me down in the end. I think last week’s IQ was a quicker grid fill. 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    Crikey Jon: I’m still way out of my depth with the IQ. It seems that I have the measure of Phi most of the time though (today’s, incidentally, was my quickest solve of any puzzle in ages). The poem and the film were both familiar, which certainly helped, leaving just the clearly clued violinist and the Hebrew month to check. My favourite was the chucklesome 29ac.

    • jonofwales said

      I must hasten to add that while filling the grid might have been straightforward last week, what came after certainly wasn’t. 🙂

  3. Rick King said

    Too obscure for me, I need more culture in my life!

Comments are closed.

