i Cryptic Crossword 1665 Nestor

June 10, 2016

This was described as chewy by a fellow cruciverbalist when it originally appeared in the Independent and I can only agree with him. I had a lot of question marks next to clues where I just couldn’t understand the cryptic parsing, most were removed after reading the Fifteensquared  blog, some like 2d and 4d just a bit to convoluted for my taste. The two long anagrams (1d and 10d) really helped me get into this puzzle which was eventually finished though not without some help from my trusty Chambers Crossword Completer, 6d was an unkown to me. My LOI was 18d which in retrospect was one of the more obvious solves. I share Twencelas’s quibble about the pluralising of Daughter in 19a as I spent a lot of time trying to fit two D’s into an answer. 8a,12a,14a and 25a all got ticks from me but for COD my pick is 26a European more particular about losing folio in something published again. (7)

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1665 Nestor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Definitely a chewy offering, but one fortunately I had the time to solve, as for me this was definitely my puzzle of the week. Another Saturday prize puzzle which I’m not sure was best suited to a weekday slot, this was perfect for a long, leisurely solve. Some of the wordplay was convoluted, but as there weren’t any real obscurities in the definitions outside of 6d, there was always more than one way to the answer.

  2. AndyT said

    I enjoyed it too, and would go along with Jon about it being the best this week. Lots of ticks. Some of those surfaces could do with a bit of attention to make them resemble intelligible English, mind, but the clues all worked well.

  3. Cornick said

    Yes indeed – not one to do when your in a rush. But I’m addicted by now, so had to do it anyhow, even if it was a bit like pulling teeth at times. Maybe I should have just saved it up for the weekend.
    LOI was for me was 9a for which the abbreviation, to be clear, is OP for opposite prompt (something I should have known) rather than O for opposite and P for prompt, but maybe that’s what twencelas implied.

Comments are closed.

