i Cryptic Crossword 1663 Dac

June 8, 2016

Last night’s rattling thunderstorm having failed to clear the air, it’s turned out to be another one of those hot, humid and thoroughly enervating days here at Batarde Mansions. Citronella is draped over the chaise longue and fanning herself with The Lady; Onions has fallen asleep over Euripides, and even Prof. Mgurure’s flicking of the duster lacks the usual brio.

Fortunately the crossword presented no difficulties worth speaking of, leaving me with just enough energy to compose a blog entry. I find myself in exactly the same position as the estimable RatkojaRiku, who did the write up of this puzzle at Fifteensquared back in September 2011 – full of admiration for Dac’s craftsmanship, but hard pressed to single out an individual clue for special praise. I liked 1, 7 and 21 a good deal, as well as the three long ones, and have decided that my clue of the day will be 11ac:

“Late accounts from journalist attached to newspaper probing Britiish politicians (7,7)”

2d raised a few eyebrows, mine included – any opinions?

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1663 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Pretty much a R&W, though I’m in an air-conditioned office, so perhaps I have a slight advantage. 🙂 Held up at the end by 7d, which I thought was slightly tricky. No issues with 2d, it doesn’t seem any more tenuous than many of the other devices we come across…

  2. dtw42 said

    What JoW said – 7dn was last in for me too.

  3. Cornick said

    Collins has air as being ‘transportation in aircraft (esp in ‘by air’)’ but it didn’t bother me too much anyway. One tends to trust a maestro. And this puzzle was indeed masterly.
    7d my last but one in, I needed that D before I could hazard a guess at DENT.

Comments are closed.

