i Cryptic Crossword 1662 Math

June 7, 2016

Sevens in all shapes and guises today, some of which I spotted, lots which passed me by while solving. Shoving in ANTE for 6d made a mess of the NE corner for a while, but on the whole nothing too difficult, though I did find it took a while to get used to Math’s style. It’s been a while since we’ve seen him in these parts, I think?

COD? 9ac – ‘Beaten? Not in a race? (6)’.

Back to September 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/09/19/independent-7777-by-morph/

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1662 Math”

  1. dtw42 said

    4dn and 11ac defeated me, I’m afraid, but otherwise I found this doable and entertaining. Didn’t spot that the answers contained a bunch more seven-related things beyond the mentions dotted throughout the clues. Oops.

  2. sprouthater said

    Just 4d that defeated me otherwise exactly the same as dtw42.

  3. AndyT said

    I thoroughly enjoyed it, and was quite happy for once to smile benignly on a couple of obscure solutions. 11 and 32 were both especially pleasing.

  4. Cornick said

    Loved it. Very muted praise on the other channel for what I thought was a cracking puzzle packed with invention.
    Just got 4d wrong by putting in SEES as in ‘the doctor will see you now’. Well, it seemed plausible at the time.
    At the weekend my son challenged me to produce a puzzle in which every light was 7 letters long. i don’t think that’s possible on a `15×15 grid, but Math here had, ironically perhaps, none.

  5. dtw42 said

    Actually … there’s THIS, perhaps. It’s a little under-checked, but it fulfils the criteria!
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0lZ88l5KKHxN21UMjJtbDk2ODg

Comments are closed.

