i Cryptic Crossword 1657 Dac

June 1, 2016

Much furrowing of brow and scratching of noggin today, or at least by Wednesday standards. I don’t know about you, but this seemed like one of Dac’s tougher puzzles to your humble correspondent. Reading the comments from the November 2011 Fifteensquared blog was rather disheartening, because everybody else dashed it off it short order, or so they say.

There was a deal of finely honed deviousness to enjoy, a couple of groanworthy puns and lengthy anagrams, an airport I’d never heard of but guessed anyway, and a phrase which allegedly got Max Bygraves into a lot of trouble once upon a time (8d). All good stuff, to the extent that it’s hardly worth listing favourites. Clue of the day, picked more or less at random from a dozen or so contenders, is 15d:

“Evil sort has lowered head, not surprisingly, in Canadian city (8)”

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1657 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Another one I’m afraid who found this fairly straightforward. Biggest problems came trying to justify the name of the playwright, and your COD, which was my last one in.

  2. dtw42 said

    I’m with JoW on this – finished quite quickly. Another case of either being on the setter’s wavelength or not, I suppose. 3dn was my LOI

  3. sprouthater said

    Like others I didn’t find this too difficult, although 3d and 22d are pretty obscure words and needed a dictionary check. 19d was a new one for me and subsequently my LOI.

  4. AndyT said

    Must be me, then … thought so. I have since redeemed myself by solving Cornick’s latest tour de force, so all is not lost.

    On reflection, 3d is a strange word. The OED has it, with a supporting quotation from R L Stevenson (that carries a good deal of weight with me), but all the same it seems a bit land lubberish. Jack would more likely say “seamanlike”, surely?

  5. Cornick said

    NE and SW corners went in in a trice, but ‘Brassies’ is one of those crosswordy type words that I haven’t met for ages so struggled to call to mind. Along with weirdy-weird 3d that held things up considerably in the NW.
    Happy with playwrights, but Mr Rankine isn’t in Collins, so I doubted him even when I had him, which held things up in the SE.

Comments are closed.

