i Cryptic Crossword 1655 Poins

May 30, 2016

A pleasant, fairly straightforward solve. That said, I got stuck for a while at the end on 5/7/8, but not for too long. No excuse now not to get on with that gardening…

COD? 11ac – ‘Undaunted, Rose played on a very old instrument (8)’.

Here’s the Fifteensquared blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/10/02/independent-on-sunday-1128-by-poins/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1655 Poins”

  1. AndyT said

    Had a bit of a struggle with the 5/6/7 too, so it’s heartening to find that it wasn’t just me. I’m slightly surprised to find that the Islamist group in 5 were a thing in 2011. Otherwise, all quite straightforward. Thanks to Cornick I can’t see 22 without snorting nowadays.

  2. sprouthater said

    5a got me too, I’ve never come across that definition before. Thought 22 was a bit of a feeble clue but generally an enjoyable puzzle

  3. Cornick said

    What everybody else said!

Comments are closed.

