i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1648 by Phi

May 28, 2016

 

Saturday 21st May 2016

Four long lights around the edge, three of which went in readily enough but the fourth, Sumer is icumen in, along with Winterreise and a few other obscurantisms made this a toughie for me.  I have a fair knowledge of classical music, Grade 5 on the ‘cello sort of thing, but sometimes  Phi expects his solvers to share his passion for Radio 3, which is probably a little unreasonable.

Unfortunately I can’t lay my hands on last Saturday’s paper for love nor money, so am unable to nominate a Clue Of the Day; please feel free!

Just click here, though, for the link to the Fifteensquared blog from 2011.

 

 

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1648 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Unsuccessful ransacking here too, but I do remember enjoying myself with the puzzle. My radio is rarely tuned to Radio 3, but it’s surprising what can be dredged up from the murky depths when it comes to classical music. Including Winterreise, don’t ask me how … I’m not a follower of lieder. 🙂

  2. jonofwales said

    Yes, quite a tough puzzle last week, seemed to take an age and a half. I notice we’ve got something a lot lighter this week, and a different setter. 🙂

  3. sprouthater said

    My knowledge of classical music doesn’t include either 12 or 26a. I felt quite cheated by their inclusion. Otherwise a tough but fair puzzle.

Comments are closed.

