i Cryptic Crossword 1653 Eimi

May 27, 2016

Another IoS reprint today, but unlike yesterdays I shouldn’t think this one gave most solvers too much trouble, though it did provide a pleasant diversion for a Friday morning.  Only 12a and 15d were unknowns to me but both solvable from the wordplay and entered after a dictionary check. Seems to be the week for Native American references with both Geronimo and Iroquois mentioned again today. Couple of things I didn’t really get ,the KG in 5d and 22a Old Greek settler? both are explained in the original blog but both still seem to me a bit iffy to me. There is a Nina across the top and bottom but as the setter explains it is meaningless to most people. Nothing really stands out as an exceptional clue but I quite liked 23d so COD is

Yarn from African Country that’s changed sides (6)

The 2011 blog is found here  http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/11/06/independent-on-sunday-1133-by-eimi/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1653 Eimi”

  1. jonofwales said

    Now that was a much better pitched IoS. A few held me up at the end, including the writer at 15d, but for the most part they flew in. I noticed the Nina fairly early on, but it meant nothing to me, not surprising given Eimi’s explanation over on Fifteensquared.

  2. dtw42 said

    I’m happy/familiar with that use of “settler”, but agree with you that KR isn’t really indicated by “Short piece” in any way. Otherwise, all pretty pleasant, straightforward, and relatively quick. Quite a relief after yesterday.

  3. Cornick said

    Pretty straightforward, despite the constraints of the Nina. The top line, Cafe Kick, was apparent, but VINOTECA meant nothing to me.
    Agree with dtw42 about 5d and 22a.
    Actually the Turgenev clue was my favourite.

Comments are closed.

