i Cryptic Crossword 1652 Hypnos

May 26, 2016

A pretty difficult IoS reprint today, made harder by what were, in effect, four pretty standalone quarters. 13ac didn’t really work for me, or 22d either for that matter, though it was a nice try at something different. An obscure island at 5ac and an even more obscure tennis player at 11ac meant that corner held out the longest. Pleased to get 24ac correct from the wordplay.

COD? Got to be said that none really inspired me today, but I’ll go with 8d – ‘ME native and submissive chaps lacking sun on island (6)’.

Back to October 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/10/16/independent-on-sunday-1130-hypnos/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1652 Hypnos”

  1. AndyT said

    I couldn’t make up my mind about 13ac – a bit of a stretch, certainly, but it made me smile when the answer came to mind. 11ac is one of the few tennis players who ever made much of an impression on me, but as Cornick said of yesterday’s puzzle if you’re under 40 that would be a real obscurity. My favourite was 24ac, on account of those glasses of course. There is no way I’d have got it from the wordplay alone though, so jolly well done Jon.

  2. dtw42 said

    Bit of a game of two halves for me. Put in a big wodge of it quite quickly this morning and then ground to a halt. The two of us together have just clawed our way to the end (thankfully my GF is a tennis fan so was able to spot 11ac) … our LOI was 1ac (football, bah, not either of our cups of tea really … despite the metaphor at the start of this comment) 😉

  3. Cornick said

    My turn to give up on this one. Like dtw42 the first half flew in and that left me, like JoW, with the four corners of which only the SW fell before my grumbling surrender. Heigh-ho!
    13a and 24a both have ticks by them though.

Comments are closed.

