i Cryptic Crossword 1651 Dac

May 25, 2016

“Down by the old 20ac
There’ll be a storm before the calm”.

I’ll be whistling that all day. Anyway, after yesterday’s tussle with Punk, we’re back to the more serene style of Dac, and as with Monday’s Quixote this seems a particularly good example of the setter’s personal approach. Here we get the smooth surfaces, a variety of elegant wordplay and a dash of invention: the usual Wednesday package, in fact. A couple of observations: some may say that 7d is a bit rich. I am just fine with it, but as Professor Mgurure pointed out there are quite a few possibilities (see Pelham Barton’s comments on the October 2011 Fifteensquared blog). Also, one wonders how well remembered the BBC bod in 22ac will be nowadays. Not nearly as easy to call to mind as 1d, in my opinion. And if you want to be picky, 12ac is a bit of a throwaway.

Thumbs up for … goodness me: all of them, pretty much. 4 and 19ac; 2,3,4 and 17d were especially appreciated, but there must be a winner, so the medal for Clue of the Day goes to 5d:

“Very strong winds putting off a pilot (7)”

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1651 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Well, that was more my cup of tea! Good stuff, even by Dac’s very high standards, I had ticks beside many clues, but my COD was 5d too.

    I think the mobile network referenced in 13ac doesn’t exist anymore, except as part of something else. But it’s well known still anyway, and I could be technically wrong.

    No problem with 7d at all – even if you didn’t get the idea at first, a few checking letters would put you straight.

  2. dtw42 said

    Ah, Tom Lehrer quotes 🙂
    (*that* song was always one of my favourites for inventive rhymes.)

    Yes, this one was much more enjoyable. I don’t generally put ticks alongside clues that made me smile, but if I did, there’d be several on the page today.

  3. Cornick said

    My pen also felt compelled, as it crossed out clue numbers, to place an emphatic tick by several clues.
    Apart from Biggles and former DG Birt we had Lassie, Shapiro, Franc and Orange Free State, so congratulations to any successful solvers under 40, I should say.

Comments are closed.

