i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1642 by Phi

May 21, 2016

Saturday 14th May  2016

In which Cornelian and Greywacke were familiar enough, but Upspeak and Lobar weren’t, though both (of course, this is Phi) were perfectly gettable from the wordplay and seemed like reasonable enough words in any case.

So not quite as hard as some over at the Fifteensquared blog found it (click here for their comments and full parsing) but still a good test with a sprinkling of fun here and there.

No hidden themes for once; I guess Phi just used the split lights of ‘Terracotta Army’ and ‘Beef Wellington’ at top and bottom as the seeds to get him going.

By the way, using the same anagram indicator – ‘working’ – twice in the same crossword is generally frowned upon, I can only think it was an oversight. And there seems to be an awful lot of Raita recently, as regulars will doubtless have noticed.

My COD goes to 9d, by which I see in my old copy I have written the word ‘nifty’. Here it is again:

Part of leg contained shell after explosion (8,6)

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1642 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, lots of raita just lately. I don’t remember much difficulty with this one, but there are plenty of appreciative annotations, including a “hoho!” next to 16d. Puerile, but none the worse for that.

  2. jonofwales said

    A few unusual words, and it never felt particularly easy when solving, but my time was pretty quick, especially for Phi on a Saturday morning, so…

  3. Rick King said

    I feel rather short with this one, and the week before, did get the cod though..which should have opened up the rest but instead I hit the buffers. Let’s see how this week’s goes, thanks as ever for the blog.

Comments are closed.

