i Cryptic Crossword 1645 Dac

May 18, 2016

I am in danger of being driven to distraction by Citronella’s constant harping on, and have therefore followed Onions’ advice and invested in a pair of noise-cancelling headphones. A snip at four hundred guineas. They’re frightfully good: nary a scale nor an arpeggio to be heard, leaving me free to bestow my undivided attention on the crossword.

About par for the Wednesday course today, possibly a little on the trickier side for Dac. Must say that I have my doubts about that “against” in 1ac, but otherwise all perfectly fair and above board. Highlights for me included 2, 19 and 25, but nobody will be surprised by my choice of COD, I dare say:

4ac: “Judaism’s equivalent to Irish priest wouldn’t stop talking (8)”

Solutions and discussion from November 2011 may be found at Fifteensquared.

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1645 Dac”

  1. dtw42 said

    Yup, 4ac had a tick against it from me too; appreciated sufficiently that I emailed that one on to a colleague.

  2. jonofwales said

    Another vote for 4ac. A few of the longer answers held out longer than I would have liked, but overall time was only a little over par.

  3. Simon H said

    May as well duplicate my comment from Fifteensquared here, since few will be reading a five year old post.

    Is there a bit of a hidden theme there? I can see RABBIT, ASS (twice), APE, DOG, RAT (twice) and RAM all hidden among the entries. And of course TERRIER. Coincidence?

    • Cornick said

      There’s also House, Construction, Storage, lay a course, Octogon and in the clues Cellar, Skylight and boards… so I think it’s probably not consciously intentional on Dac’s part, especially given his track record.
      As for the subconcious, well, that’s quite another matter altogether!

Comments are closed.

