i Cryptic Crossword 1644 Glow-Worm

May 17, 2016

Well, my time was completely off the scale for this puzzle, that I found extremely difficult. For a long time I didn’t have any answers, and it was only when some of the longer ones went in that the grid began to fill. Quite a few where I didn’t understand the cryptic. Typically, I’m unable to find a Fifteensquared blog, so you’ll have to make do with my efforts below. A bit of a rush job, I’ll admit. Any help with the clues I still have question marks beside would be much appreciated.

COD? 11ac – ‘Clothe yourself in gold, angel (5)’.

Across

1/9 AUGUSTINE OF HIPPO – (POPE GO U US IN FAITH)*
6 AMATI – Reverse hidden in maladroIT AMAteurs
10 GEORGIC – Sounds like JAW + GI + C
11 DON OR
12 S QUEEn GEED
13 ROAST BEEF – (Baste for + e)*
15 sExLiFeIsNt
16 S POOR
18 H(ALF C)ASTE – Thanks, Andy, for spotting what I’d missed!
20 ROTAVIRUS – ROTA + VIR (Latin: man or husband) + US
23 LYING – Double Def.
25 ITALICS – IT = Desirable Quality + Sounds like ALEX… (See comments, thanks again Dave!)
26/28 POINT OF DEPARTURE – (D + European port if t)*
27 T(HEM)E

Down

1 ALOUD – DUO plus LA for lane, presumably, reversed.
2 GEHENNA – GE(HEN = Orpington Chicken)N + A (Absolute) – Many thanks to Dave in the comments…
3 SUP ER(STA)R
4 IDOLS – Sounds like IDLES.
5 EG G CUP FULl – It feels like there should be a hypen there though.
6 A ROSE
7/8 ANGLE OF INCIDENCE – (DANCING ON ICE + FEELs)*
13/17 RESTRAIN T OF TRADE – REST RAIN + (DO AFTER T)*
14 ETHERISED – (THE)* + DESIRE reversed.
15 EXCELSIOR – Sounds like XL + SI(O)R where the O is an O Grade, a pass, in a Scottish exam. (Thanks again Dave for the help…)
19 SHIATSU – (THIS A)* + US<-
21 VOILE – Reverse hidden in DisraELI OVerview
22 SO(P) UP
24 GAFFEr

12 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1644 Glow-Worm”

  1. sprouthater said

    Well done Jon. Like you I had many answers that I didn’t fully understand but unlike you you I gave up with 20a and 14d unsolved, both of these were new to me and I hope the remain so. A thoroughly unenjoyable puzzle for me.

  2. Dave Ryan said

    I think in 2d, GEN = general and A = absolute. In 15d, Excel sounds like XL (extra large), and gentleman = SIR. This leaves O meaning Scottish pass, which I don’t understand.

    • jonofwales said

      Thanks. I’ve found the O in Chambers – ‘O Grade, In Scotland (a pass in) a former examination…’

  3. Dave Ryan said

    Oh, and in 25a, “IT” is a desirable quality, and the rest of the answer sounds like Alex.

  4. AndyT said

    Many thanks for the extra effort, Jon.

    Bit of an odd puzzle, but I enjoyed it, despite getting fixated on “icons” for 4d for ages before the penny dropped. 14d can be found in Eliot’s “The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock”, which it seems I still recall rather well. I parsed 18ac by taking the calf, moving the “c” to the end (“caught at last”) and putting it in “haste”. Rather a gratifying solve today, all told.

    • jonofwales said

      You’re quite right about 18ac. An example of not being able to see the wood for the trees. 🙂

  5. dtw42 said

    Well, I’ve just finished with help from my girlfriend, mostly in the SW corner (thank goodness she’d heard of RESTRAINT OF TRADE – I hadn’t). Somewhat tough indeed.

  6. allan_c said

    Interestingly, a throw-back to the early days of the Indy when entries that spanned more than one light were always balanced with similar entries placed symmetrically.
    And for some obscure reason (possibly to do with the fact that Morse is a cruciverbalist) 1/9 put me in mind of the Inspector Morse episode where one of the clues is the holding of a service for the feast of the conversion of St Augustine – a feast that doesn’t exist in the church calendar.
    Anyway, neither of these observations have much to do with this crossword so I’ll shut up.

    • jonofwales said

      Service For All The Dead, I was reading the book just a couple of weeks ago. 🙂

  7. Cornick said

    I’m a day behind this week, but had to drop in to say well done for the blog, Jon. This was the hardest in quite a while, I thought.
    Took me quite a while, and I needed to comb the dictionary for a few like ROTOVIRUS, GEORGIC, GEHENNA and RESTRAINT OF TRADE – all unfamiliar, even if a distant bell could be heard tinkling.
    Managed to parse it all okay apart from EXCELSIOR where I couldn’t see the O.
    Enjoyed it lots – certainly a lot more than Nitsy yesterday about whose puzzle the less said the better!

    • jonofwales said

      No problem. It would, though, be one where I could have done with a blog to refer to myself… 🙂

Comments are closed.

