i Cryptic Crossword 1641 Monk

May 13, 2016

Like the original blogger my first pass was quite productive. I did notice the X’s, Q’s and Y’s and wondered if we had another pangram, but didn’t pursue it, well I was wrong because as you all probably spotted it was a double pangram. Irrespective of that I found the rest of the puzzle really tough with too many (for me) obscurities the worst of which I thought was 1a. Maria being a sea on the Moon. Is this really common knowledge?  A bit of a curate’s egg puzzle for me then.

My COD is 3d   Waiters will be irritated by this going forward  (5-7)

Back to Beermagnet’s excellent dissection and explanation

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/10/08/independent-7788-by-monk-sat-01-oct-2011/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1641 Monk”

  1. jonofwales said

    Two tough puzzles in a row. I struggled quite badly with this from the start. If Monk was on one wavelength, I was on another entirely. Liked 14d, even if my first thought was CENTRE LEFT which caused me no end of problems in that part of the grid. Guessed there was a double pangram, but guessed wrongly one of the Q’s was in 12ac…

  2. dtw42 said

    I think “maria being a sea on the moon” should actually be “seas on the moon” as it’s the plural of mare … I did spot the double pangram, but gave up four answers from the end (knowing that one of them must have a Z in in … turns out to have been 22dn, another “never heard of it” jobbie). So another puzzle where I found most of it fine and then just a few stinkers to prevent a finish.

  3. AndyT said

    I have to be in the mood for Monk, and for the most part I was today, but there was a lot of smartypants stuff which really belongs in a barred puzzle. 17ac annoyed me considerably: according to the OED the verbal form (which I was surprised to find actually did exist) is only ever used as a past participle, so the legitimacy of the definition is purely theoretical. Japanese sandals and Egyptian dancing girls didn’t go down too well either. On the other hand 3, 12, 15 and 20 get the thumbs up, so as Sprouthater says it’s a curate’s egg.

  4. Cornick said

    I really enjoyed this one – a cracking mixture of inventive wordplay and a double pangram that threatened being another triple but, given the grid pattern was unlikely to deliver, I suppose.
    For the second day running I have one quibble only – and, surprise, surprise, it’s the one I couldn’t do – 1d. Why? Not the odd spelling of miaow, but rather the use of an indirect anagram, which I had thought was verboten. Given the large number of commenters for whom this was their LOI, I rather wish it was!

Comments are closed.

