i Cryptic Crossword 1639 Dac

May 11, 2016

Many thanks to Citronella for filling in so surprisingly ably last week. She is putting in some intensive harp practice this week, so the ambience here is decidedly celestial.

Today’s puzzle was rather outstanding I thought, full of apt anagrams and finely honed wordplay. I’m positive I remember Ronnie Corbett telling a joke along similar lines to 13ac concerning Sonia Lannaman, so that must have been in the distant, unreconstructed past. 22ac was unfamiliar but readily deduced from the wordplay : no complaints there, and the same goes for 2d. My favourites today include 4, 10 and 25 across, along with 1 and 10 down; however the last one in was sufficiently groan-worthy to take Clue of the Day:

8d – “Pen more than one hymn (4,4)”

The Fifteensquared blog from September 2011 contains a few complaints in the comments about that one, but for my money the use of the verbal form was entirely legitimate and added another level of cleverness, so well done Dac.

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1639 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    The bottom half of the puzzle went in in a jiffy, the rest took much longer. For some reason it took until the bitter end to spot the rather famous former PM at 1d. I blame the rather obscure island. Too many good clues to list, as always on a Wednesday.

  2. sprouthater said

    My last in was 1d too, probably because I’ve spent 25 years trying to forget her. Knew 2d but my D looked like an O so wasted time there.
    11a and 22a were new to me but solvable. Generally all good stuff as usual for a Wednesday

Comments are closed.

