i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1630 by Phi

May 7, 2016

Saturday 30th April  2016

My brother used to make home brew in a carboy – it’s a large glass container which although etymologically from the Persian qarabah (apparently) splits nicely in half for the dual theme of last weekend’s crossword. If you cracked that clue ‘Shy about bar breaking bottle’ at 5d/25d and so were able to get CAR and BOY of course, you probably had a quick solve, otherwise the cross-referenced clues might have proved pretty impenetrable.

COD? Well I liked the way 17a was put together, but despite not normally liking Christian names in clues (it’s really when they’re in the wordplay I bristle – too many possibilities) I’m giving the award to the nifty 1d:

25d with 5D on trial? (8)

For all the answers and parsing from 2011, please click here.

By the way, and as stated in the comments section with yesterday’s Klingsor blog, the correct set of clues for yesterday’s puzzle have been printed on p23 of today’s paper.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1630 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    The trouble with Saturday is that I can barely remember doing the thing, even with it in front of me. Seems I went to town with colouring in the thematic solutions, but was less than generous with ticks. There are two of them next to 24ac, but reading it back it looks like I was just pleased with myself for parsing such a convoluted clue. Anyway, Phi’s prize offerings are always enjoyable: it’s a fixed point in the week like the Wednesday Dac.

  2. jonofwales said

    I seem to remember getting 5/25 quite quickly, and that most of the grid was a doddle. The SW corner, though, I’ve noted that I ran into real problems. 21 and 24 I’m guessing in particular.

  3. Rick King said

    In two minds on this one, the key clue carboy I only confirmed quite late in the day, although in retrospect it was well clued….did manage to grind out the full solution in the end which was satisfying in itself…so all in all a tick from me, thank you Cornick for the blog and Phi for the puzzle

Comments are closed.

