i Cryptic Crossword 1633 Dac

May 4, 2016

Oh gosh. My brother has taken himself off to play croquet with someone called Pilcrow; Onions has gone with him to act as caddy or something, and Ms Mgurure is too busy planning a rocket salad, or at least I think that’s what she said. So you’ll have to make do with me, Citronella B, I’m afraid.

Fortunately my brother has been coaching me in this crossword business, so I’m in a position to announce that today’s puzzle is a panagram … oh dear, is that right? Anyway, it has all the letters in it: apparently this sort of thing often leads lesser compilers to tie themselves in knots but there’s nothing dreadfully obscure here except perhaps for 26ac. Not something generally found outside crossword puzzles or the food hall at Fortnums, I suppose. Oh, and I think trade names are a bit naughty, aren’t they? Anyway, lots of fun and I was frightfully pleased with myself for working out 20ac and 7 and 8d, for instance. Jolly devious! Clue of the day however is 1d:

“Tent, brand new on the inside (7)”

The most difficult thing about this blog thingummy turned out to be finding the appropriate entry at Fifteensquared. I thought for a while that I’d have to write one myself, which would have been awful for everyone, especially my brother when he got home. However, after much diligent searching, here it is.

PS. A great big thank you to Messrs. Cornick and dtw42, or Maize and Marvin for supplying two highly inventive puzzles: if you missed the links earlier, just click their noms de plume above.

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1633 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Thanks for standing in. 😉

    I shot through the LHS, but slowed down somewhat in the NE corner, and then to a crawl in the SE, finally entering 26ac somewhat tentatively, although it could be little else. 19d tickled my fancy today.

  2. sprouthater said

    Tangelo is a familiar word to regular Countdown viewers. 10a was the obscurity for me and 24a struck as a bit iffy. My pick was 22d.

  3. Cornick said

    Thanks for the plug Citronella – you deputised very well… Batarde might tell you it’s spelled ‘pangram’, but I like your version quite as well.
    No problems with fruit & veg like 26a when you work in a Mediterranean biome half the time, but I couldn’t choose between Shipjack and Skipjack for 21a until reading James’ comment on the other channel.
    Will this Dac fellow ever write a duff clue?

  4. dtw42 said

    Seconding what the others said above (Jon re finding the SE corner a sticky finish, Sprouthater re tangelo, Cornick re plug thanks). 24ac was my last one in, with a bit of a harrumph.

Comments are closed.

