i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1624 by Phi

April 30, 2016

Saturday 23rd April  2016

I got very excited last Saturday when I thought Phi had made a crossword especially for the i – a superfluity of Shakespeare themed crosswords, perhaps?  But no, it’s not the ‘six hundredth year’ (the Nina in rows 1 and 15) of the Bard’s death (that’ll be four hundred years, of course), but of the founding of 1d/5d.  Never mind…

Another fine crossword from Phi. 19d was a bit tricky, but otherwise nothing to slow up a gentle completion.  I have ‘COD’ written next to 23d, so here it is again:

Describing bible at regular intervals, but overlooking Biblical city (4)

For all the answers and parsing, please click here.

By the way, and further to dtw42’s ingenious puzzle under his slightly catchier name ‘Marvin’ (see Thursday’s Tees comments) I have a new puzzle published on Big Dave’s website today. Click here.

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1624 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Oh, so that was what it was all about then. Well, at least I spotted the Nina (which helped), even if the significance passed me by. Besides your COD I also have an emphatic tick next to 20ac.

    Many thanks in advance for the latest Maize puzzle: I’m looking forward to that.

  2. jonofwales said

    Yes, I spotted the Nina, and no, it didn’t help me in the SE corner where I got bogged down somewhat.

    Thanks for the tip about the new Maize puzzle, will definitely give that a go!

  3. Rick King said

    After missing a couple of weeks managed most of this, entracte foiled the full finish…

Comments are closed.

