i Cryptic Crossword 1629 Crosophile

April 29, 2016

A fairly straightforward offering from Crosophile today I thought. Yes I missed the Nina which is apparently a diving term and was meant to be part of a hidden theme that, apart from 18a and 26a, failed to surface. A couple I had trouble parsing properly. 14a where we had to drop the elect from electrical clued by “discharging saved” didn’t make much sense to me and 25 down Hay = Dance was new to me. The rest made for a very acceptable if not too challenging puzzle.

A visit to a pub yesterday evening where I imbibed one or two pints of  Palmers Tally Ho! prompts my COD 22d   Refills for dogs after time on owners lead (3-3)

At the beginning of the month Jon blogged a Glow-Worm puzzle that had been omitted from Fifteensquared this blog explains why.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/09/04/independent-on-sunday-1124-by-crosophile/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1629 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    Not especially demanding, but I was reasonably happy with this one except for a couple of highly debatable homophones in quick succession at 26 and 27. Oh, and I don’t think 23d bears close examination really, for all that it’s a neat idea. Just the one tick today, next to 20ac.

  2. jonofwales said

    This is one of those puzzles where, at first glance, I thought that I was in trouble, but once I got started the answers flew in. The SE corner, though, gave me quite a bit of trouble, and the intersection of 17/20 particularly so. 7d tickled me, an example of the definition very much being hidden in plain sight.

  3. dtw42 said

    25dn was my LOI (educated guess since HAY = DANCE was/is unfamiliar to me too). Reasonable enough apart from that, and no, I didn’t see the nina either.

  4. Cornick said

    Antic Hay by Huxley sprung to mind, and it does indeed mean dance in that context.
    Generally a gentle, enjoyable solve apart from that one and Egesta, for which I guessed wrongly ‘egests’.
    I rather liked 4 across.
    Nina, very well hidden, passed me by also.

Comments are closed.

