i Cryptic Crossword 1628 Tees

April 28, 2016

I’m posting from the SAU Unit of the local hospital where my GP has seen fit to send me, but where there is thankfully Wi-Fi, so this will be quick. 😀

This is exactly the kind of puzzle I was hoping we’d get when I realised I’d be in for a lot of waiting round. Quite tough, lots to get your teeth into. Spotted the double pangram, but failed to notice that it was actually a triple. Quite an achievement!

COD? 30ac – ‘Go without nookie (4)’.

Here’s the 2011 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/08/25/independent-7756-by-tees/

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1628 Tees”

  1. dtw42 said

    When I saw the triple on its way, I then relented on earlier mild grumpiness about a couple of obscurities and proper names 🙂
    Jolly clever.

  2. AndyT said

    Like Jon I was expecting the double pangram almost from the outset, but didn’t notice the triple. So yes, very clever, and terribly satisfying … for the compiler. The occasional raciness was mildly amusing, but I can’t say that the instances of torturous wordplay, debatable definitions and the Afrikaans did a great deal to enhance my enjoyment. That said, I am sincerely impressed, as much by the fact that there’s just the one real obscurity in the whole thing as anything else – so a hearty “bravo” to Tees.

  3. Cornick said

    Loved it. Noticed 3 Js and 3 Zs in the NW corner early on which alerted me to the probable triple. So towards the end I still had a list of CFFKKTTWX to be fitted into the SE corner – very helpful.
    Triples are rare indeed but do serve to illustrate what a non-achievement a single pangram actually is!
    A quadruple is possible, but the resulting grid is frankly a bit silly: http://www.crosswordunclued.com/2015/03/quadruple-pangram-in-thc.html

  4. dtw42 said

    On the subject of letter-gimmick crosswords, many years ago I produced one where both clues and answers were a lipogram with no “e”. Nowhere near as impressive a feat as this though 🙂

    • Cornick said

      Lope de Vega wrote a lot of plays, 5 of which omitted each of the vowels in turn.
      …Any chance of our seeing your crosswords, dtw42?

    • AndyT said

      That would cut more ice with me than pangrams, generally speaking. Today’s was exceptional, but it still didn’t tickle my fancy the way some of Scorpion and Punk’s inventions do, for instance. (Or, for that matter, the majority of puzzles by a chap who calls himself Maize). If it would be possible to see your lipogram puzzle I’d be very interested too, dtw42.

Comments are closed.

