i Cryptic Crossword 1627 Dac

April 27, 2016

An old friend appears at 5d today, reminding me that it’s high time to venture down into the wine cellar and check the brickwork.

After yesterday’s offering from Glow-Worm it’s nice to get back onto firmer ground, and here we see difficult solutions being matched to gentle wordplay, thank goodness. For instance, those who are strangers to the billiards table may well be unfamiliar with 21d, but it’s readily deduced, whereas my clue of the day is an object lesson in the art of misdirection. Highlights for me included 4ac, 3 and 18d, and of course 10ac which got a lot of praise in the comments at Fifteensquared, but the aforementioned COD is 16d:

“Rather clever, having answer to clue filled in (8)”

Solutions and discussion from back in August 2011 can be found here.

A word of thanks to Cornick for supplying a link to a highly enjoyable puzzle once again: for anyone who missed his post on Saturday this one is well worth a look.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1627 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Struggled somewhat with this today, and unusually with Dac have a couple of complaints. We have a fairly obscure answer plus wordplay element at 18d, an obscure (to outsiders) crossword term at 16d, and I don’t see Nintendo as equating to game – it’s a gaming platform, surely? That said, I did like the rest. 10ac I thought was an excellent clue.

  2. Cornick said

    Yup the ‘All-in-one’ of 10a and the peachy surface of 16d were both stand-outs indeed. Also squeezing on to my particular podium were 5d and 17a. Arf.
    Guessed 19d wrongly.
    Batarde, did you twig what was going on with Ethelred/ The Elder in that Elgar crossword, I wonder?

    • AndyT said

      I think so: that was the “weak cryptic” presumably. I took the full anagram to be “ale here” + 20d + 23d. You’ve got me wondering now, and I certainly wouldn’t be surprised if some further cleverness on Elgar’s part had slipped by me – it was something of a tour de force all told.

  3. sprouthater said

    Quite a few obscurities here, though most were solvable from the wordplay. 1a 14a and 21d were all new to me. Didn’t like 13a and have to agree with Jon about 25a. Lots to like though, I particularly liked 15d, a fine word that’s not used enough.

  4. dtw42 said

    I’m no computer gamer, but even I put a frowny face against 25ac as a poor definition.
    Fortunately I *was* familiar with 21dn, having attempted to play one or two in my youth 🙂

Comments are closed.

