i Cryptic Crossword 1623 Nestor

April 22, 2016

Its a gloomy wet Friday and some pop singer has died. After reading through all the clues and only managing to enter a couple of solutions with any certainty I was feeling a bit down myself. I am not really keen on overly long and complex clues but after a second reading and a bit of gnawing on the end of my pencil I had solved the four long answers around the edges which gave a footing to solving the rest (well nearly, 3d defeated me).  I didn’t understand it all but the excellent blog gives a detailed explanation to all the answers. Lots of excellent clues to choose from 1a,8d and 27a all stood out to me but I think  I must give COD to

9d   £25 to cover raised fees. left with plain brown wrapping under a false name (14)

The very detailed 2011 blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/10/22/independent-7800-saturday-prize-puzzle-15-october-2011-nestor/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1623 Nestor”

  1. jonofwales said

    My experience was v similar. Had a go earlier when tired and entered a handful of clues. Waited until after lunch and promptly finished in quite a fast time, albeit without full understanding of some of the parsing. Was I the only person surprised to find that 10ac was a real word?

  2. AndyT said

    I thought this was downright excellent, scoring a very healthy seven on the tickometer. 3d, however … were it not for a dimly remembered fragment of junior school mathematics that would have caused a fair deal of bother. I’m no better with Old Testament tribes than French departments.

  3. Cornick said

    Very nice and, with 3d, my ‘O’ level in Statistics finally has a use. My conviction that there was going to be a pangram helped me to get 22a… but then there wasn’t one, so I guess we’ll call that fluking it.
    Weirdly, shemozzle seemed more familiar when solving than it does now.

  4. dtw42 said

    My solve was in three phases: a struggly short start in the morning … a much more fluent whizz through over dinner … and then another struggle over the last six or so with help from my girlfriend. 3dn was my last one in – also recalling statistics and then looking up the reversed form to see if such a tribe existed.

Comments are closed.

