i Cryptic Crossword 1622 Poins

April 21, 2016

A pretty tough offering from Poins today, with the SW corner in particular putting up a lot of resistance. I wasn’t convinced by either 22d or 27ac, which didn’t really help, and it’s only now that I’ve spotted the definition in 14d, which I can only blame on myself and not Poins.

COD? 21d – ‘Kind of government found in African country (6)’.

Here’s the old IoS blog from October 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/10/23/independent-on-sunday-1131poins/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1622 Poins”

  1. AndyT said

    Quite challenging. I’m inclined to single out 14d for special praise because of the misdirection. There were a few quibbles though: 22d and 27ac were both deeply questionable in my opinion, and the number of possibilities for 28ac (bedspread? eiderdown?) rendered it no better than a concise clue, dependent for the correct solution entirely on checked letters. Oh, and there’s that French administrative district, too – but that’s just my special bugbear.

    • jonofwales said

      Eiderdown was my first thought, and in it went, until it became clear none of the crossing answers would fit.

  2. dtw42 said

    Yes – 22, 27 and 28 were exactly the ones I’d marked as irksome for just those reasons Andy mentioned. (I wrote eiderdown AND bedspread in the margin waiting for checking letters to confirm which it was … and then found the T in the middle meant it was neither.) For me it’s the NW corner (1ac and 3dn) that have proved the sticking (or, coming unstuck, if you like) point.

  3. sprouthater said

    I didn’t find this very inspiring, all the old crossword fodder seemed to be used. CHE ENT ANC EE and so on . A few good clues 21d, 23a and 14d. Realy didn’t like 22d and 27a . The use of cast as a synonym for turn in 1a also seemed a bit iffy to me.

    • AndyT said

      Perhaps you’ll recall the scene in Blackadder when Lady Whiteadder demands whether Edmund can explain why a drunkard has just staggered in and bellowed “great booze up”? There follows a protracted pause during which Rowan Atkinson goes through his entire repertoire of facial contortions, and finally announces that, yes, he rather thinks that he can.

      ‘Twas much the same with me and that “cast”: it’s “cast of mind” / “turn of mind” I think. Quite possibly you might say that’s about as convincing as Blackadder’s story.

  4. Cornick said

    The first half fairly flew in, but the SW and NE corners were such a slog that I resorted to Chambers Word Wizard for the first time in ages.
    Looking back at it now, I find it hard to see why exactly… apart from 22d, which was rubbish, all the clues seem fine, and my misgivings in the margins seem rather churlish.
    Maybe it’s just that we all needed a bit more fun to keep us going.through all that trickery.

Comments are closed.

